People Make Glasgow Day 4

Ah yes – the time has come for the REAL fun to start. My dad left me to my whimsies, told me to have fun and be safe and then left me standing on the street as he drove away in a taxi for 6 months, and it was up to me to fulfill my life’s ambition and become the true Gryffindor within. I am, after all, a Gryffindor at heart.

10940535_10203320750281221_5611840833746876321_n

So here lies the outside of my flat. Birkbeck Court. It’s peaceful and quaint, isn’t it? I love the way the deadened trees somehow seem to liven the place up. It was a dreadfully sunny day. Quite the scandal, if you ask me. My window was one of the ones at the very top. Crazy, right? And you know what? I never learned to accept those 8 flights of stairs.

10957689_10203347194662314_6323192064052589011_n

And, in case you were wondering (which I’m sure you were), this is what my room looked like on the inside. It’s even cuter than the outside, I’d say. Of course it helps that I decorated it. I went a little wild while packing and brought almost everything I could find that seemed to scream ‘KRISTA!’ So – here it all is. I enjoyed it though. It became my safe haven. My cave of love, even. Though I often kicked them out without their socks the next morning. I even enjoyed the smell of it. There was an old style heater under the window and I think it gave the whole room a sort of warm, cozy smell as well as feel. I always slept well here. It was strange. I hadn’t often slept well back in Cali. I always needed some kind of white noise there, too. But not here. Here, I could keep my window open and listen to the crazy partiers coming home at 3 in the morning screaming Bulgarian songs. I could listen to the rush of taxis and large buses on the wet road. I could hear the patter of the rain on the windowsill. It was all very refreshing to me.

10945494_10203347190262204_2764172325092063210_n

Well, one week in, I woke up to this. Snow. On the roofs. In the grass. Breeding in the sky. It was the most exciting thing I had experienced so far. I had gone out the night before so I woke up kind of late, but it still seemed right on schedule. So I rushed into the shower and got ready. I had to be outside. Had to. Of course, when I get out there, the cold wind only seemed to wake me up more. I wanted to keep walking. Wanted to run. To take over the city myself. And I mean, I basically did. But I didn’t know I would do that yet. Today, all I cared about was kicking around the snow and making footprints in the grass. I didn’t even care that I was alone. None of my flatmates cared that much about it. But I did. It made me feel…alive. I was soon to find that a lot of things would make me feel that way in this dreadfully distant place.

20705_10203347189982197_3050737265536119056_n

Look at how few people cared! Though most of them weren’t silly California girls, were they? Thank the Lords. I was already annoyed at the international orientation when a whole line of flippy-haired, blonde, San Diego girls sat down in front of me. I didn’t need more of them, that’s for sure. I had left America for a reason. Where was I headed here? I don’t even know. Everywhere. Nowhere. To the library, probably. Pay no attention to the giant crane or the lack of human life…

PARTAH

And, as promised, my life truly began this week, too. Here, I have officially convinced all of my international and Scottish friends alike to attend the Harry Potter themed club party with me. We were pre-gaming in a flat before heading out to the club. Can you pick out the Scots? Hint — look for the whitest boys in the whole room. I’m hardly visible, though it is a shame. I was wearing a full-on outfit of Hufflpuff attire, socks and everything. Kind of awkward considering I’m a Ravenclaw now. This was the first real party I attended and the first time I really let go. I won’t say much more. The rest is up to one’s imagination. Let’s just say that the night ended much wilder than expected…

Peace. Cheers. Love. xx

Day 5 to come next week.

Leave a Reply

